Trustees and Endowments


The G.A.R. Memorial Library was established under the Massachusetts General Laws and the town's by-laws, and it is governed by the nine members of the Board of Trustees with three members elected at the annual town election, each for a three year term.  The G.A.R. Memorial Library relies on the generosity of the town to provide basic library services through annual appropriations. Additional resources are available from the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners and the Merrimack Valley Library Consortium (MVLC). The Library's Endowment Fund established in 1897 consists of monies from private citizens donated as gifts or bequests. It is controlled and expended by the Board in compliance with its Endowment Policy and administered by the Town Accountant according to State Law. The Board is responsible for all monies appropriated by the Town for the Library as well as the hiring of the Library Director who is the executive and administrative officer of the library on behalf of the Board and under its review and direction.

The Board holds an open meeting thefirst Tuesday of every month, excepting July and August, at 7:30 PM at the library unless otherwise posted at town hall.

At the present time the board consists of the following:

Marcia Sellos-Moura, Chairman/Treasurer
Amy Custance, Vice-Chairman
Holly Cole, Recording Secretary
Virginia Selman, Corresponding Secretary
Ann Dooley
Fred Chanania
Pamela Atwood
Sandra Capo
Wendy Reed